July 20, 2011

Missed the morning session today. I understand the chaplain from the county jail facility spoke on her behalf. It came out that Manling has been writing to male inmates that she meets on the bus to court. Pretty disgusting – at least I think so.

When I arrived at court after lunch they were taking the testimony of a sociologist who knew Manling as a child. She testified also that Taiwanese immigrants are very hard on their children – I guess it’s the “Tiger Mom” defense. I just don’t buy it. Kids from many cultures feel a great deal of pressure to succeed – I know that I did. And, obviously, all children of Tiger Moms who fail to live up to expectations do not kill their families in their beds. It’s a stupid defense. I wish I could hold up a little sign like Wile E. Coyote that says, “But she killed her family,” or “murdered her children.” Hello! Many people who didn’t get enough positive attention from their parents still manage not to murder anyone.

Therapist thinks I should take a sleeping pill for the next couple of weeks. I don’t like it, because it makes me feel groggy and irritable. But, then, not sleeping doesn’t do much for my mood either. So, what’s the answer? Aaarrrgh. Monkey.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

