Missing the Arguments

There are so many things going on in the world, and I really miss talking to Neal.  Whether the Olympics, the Russian invasion of Georgia and threats to Poland, or the discovery of a new group of lowland gorillas in the Congo, I know I could have called him up and had a thorough and satisfying discussion of each and every one.  Each item would be shaken out and held up, turned around and inspected from every angle before finally being folded up and put away.  Opinions didn’t matter, we would examine every angle and poke at every argument looking for holes.  Devon was going to be just the same – he always wanted full information and weighed every answer with logic, often turning to another adult for confirmation, asking “Is that true?”  How he pushed me to examine every little detail of every subject!  I think he sent me to do more research of subjects I  had thought myself thoroughly versed in than any professor I have ever met.  He was confident that I could give him the right answer, and made me the only other member of his Smart Club.  That’s a lot to live up to!  And Ian came up with the most interesting instant answers out of his fertile imagination.  His quicksilver mind darted into avenues unexpected and creative, yet with an interesting logic all their own.  I miss that.  I miss them all –  the stimulation of their agile minds and warmth of their tender hearts.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

